Forgiveness is a virtue of the Brave


image

Harbouring a lot of negativity in my thoughts was making it impossible to see the goodness in and around me which was directly impacting my physical and emotional health. The understanding of this fact has helped me realise that it is about time to fight my inner demons and get my original pleasant personality back.

But how much ever I try I could never forget or forgive the people who have hurt me. All the self help books talk about the benefits of forgiving and the bliss we would experience there after. Is it really that simple and easy? Am I the only one who is not able forget or forgive?

I am painfully reminded of one of the famous quotes by Mahatma Gandhi –

“The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong.”

May be I am not as strong as I think I am. Holding the heavy burden of grudge against people for too long has weakened the positive spirit inside me. While pondering about forgiveness, I realised that I have also hurt many people’s feelings knowingly or unknowingly and they might also be carrying some resentment in the similar way. May be asking forgiveness for our actions should be the first step in trying to attain peace and harmony within. Hence I bow my head before God with this prayer..

O Almighty!! Please forgive me for my mistakes!!
Grant me the Gift of forgetting the hurtful past and
The Strength to forgive the misdeeds of people!!

New year always brings Hope with a lot of zest and zeal. I sincerely hope that this year I will be successful in forgiving and be forgiven by those involved.

(Photo Courtesy – Internet)

Leave a Reply

